ThoughtsOfAnEnglishMajor

My thoughts on life.

Wait..What?

OK, so I have completely slacked on my blogging which I vowed I wouldn’t do. Well, I actually vowed that I would post at least one blog a week, but even following this stipulation, I have failed. So, please don’t throw your computers in rage or send me an explosive device in the mail; I will do better! However in my defense, I honestly have no idea where the time went. One second I was sitting in my dorm writing a paper, and suddenly, I was sitting in my recliner at home enjoying my spring break. This incredible jump through time made me think, “Wait..What?”

However, this term that so excellently describes my life right now, was not created by me. A dear friend of mine, we’ll call her Lori to protect her identity from those creepy people on the internet that my mom always warned me about as a child, is the inventor. It has been said so much by her over the last school year that I have caught myself using it..a lot.

I mean a lot. Lori uses this expression for every story, situation, moment, study period, lunch, dinner, snack time, even in the shower. I could be in the middle of a thrilling story in which I shared my escape from a pit of poisonous snakes, or my rescue of a damsel in distress, and Lori will make eye contact, flash a smile, giving all the signs that she is attentive and present in the moment. However, just as I catch my breath from finishing the story, the words will just fall out of her mouth, “Wait..What?” She has to make sure that she gets every detail of every story. (She would make a great private investigator)

My life seems messy right now. I am in the middle of determining the rest of my life, writing papers, doing labs, going out from time to time, and making an pathetic attempt of having a romantic life. I feel like I’m in a whirl wind most days just trying to get from point A to B. I am completely consumed in the everyday simple doings of life. I am just trying to keep up with the world around me, and many days, failing. So the the phrase, seeming to come from some sort of sketch comedy show, makes perfect sense.

Lori has given me hope. For the longest time, I have tried to keep composure, stay calm, put on a poker face and always look like I know exactly what’s going on (even though I don’t). But, it doesn’t have to be that way. Lori has taught me that it is OK to just have the speedy world slow down for one second, pause, and ask it what the heck is going on. I understand now, more than ever, that if you’re lost, confused, needing to slow down, or hung-over just to ask, “Wait..What?”

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Wait..What?

  1. Jessica on said:

    I knew exactly who you were talking about right away. This made me laugh and relax. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

